A selection from the portfolio of prints by Enrique Brinkmann (1934)

Serie MMX- 5 

Maraña II (Weiß) 

Serie Barcelona X 

Biographical note

Born on 9 October 1934 in Málaga (Spain), in the same block as Picasso 1881 (by the way also in October, on 25th). His artistic talent has been evident from an early age; he likes to draw, paint and read (Dostojewski). He discontinued his studies ("perito industrial") relatively quickly and devoted himself exclusively to art, as an autodidact. With success. His first solo exhibition at the age of 19, he founds the "Grupo Picasso" with other artists. After his military service (1959/1960) he emigrated to Hilden (Germany), where he worked in a factory, but was expelled from the country due to a missing residence permit.
1961 he returns to Cologne. Due to the success of an exhibition at Galerie Boisseree, he can devote himself exclusively to art. He made contact with Vostell, with the Fluxus group and is a friend of Cornelius Cardew. Later he moved to Berlin and from there to Rome (1964).
In 1966 he returned to Malaga. In 1969 he marries a German woman with whom he has two children.
His work is becoming more and more popular, both nationally and internationally, the list of trade fairs, exhibitions and art prizes is simply too long, we prefer to refer to his homepage for details.

Enrique lives between his hometown Málaga and his second studio in Madrid, also in a house steeped in history: it was the house of Cervantes.

In our opinion, Enrique Brinkmann is not only a gifted artist who, far from the hustle and bustle of the art market, has pioneered a path that all critics have unanimously acknowledged as unique and outstanding. His style, settled in Informel, has developed over the years, there is no standstill, despite success it is always "Continue !". His painting technique is also subject to evolution, his speciality - oil on metal lattice - is heading straight for perfection.
As a convinced (and gifted) etcher - two state prizes bear witness to a very high level - he often devotes more time to his prints than paintings, the obsession with detail can hardly be guessed in the digital image. The high precision, the high quality and the artistic straightforwardness and balance make these works unique.

Links to further biographies

Wikipedia
https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enrique_Brinkmann (SPANISH)

Website of Enrique Brinkmann
https://www.enriquebrinkmann.es/reports/EN_biography.php?lang=eng

Museums and Institutions

For this we refer to the website of Enrique Brinkmann, which is the most up-to-date:
https://www.enriquebrinkmann.es/reports/EN_museums.php?lang=eng

Ein Ausschnitt aus dem Angebot an Grafiken von Brinkmann (1934)

Serie MMX- 5 

Maraña II (Weiß) 

Serie Barcelona X 

Biographische Notiz

Geboren am 9. Oktober 1934 in Málaga (Spanien), im selben Hausblock wie Picasso 1881 (übrigens auch im Oktober, am 25.). Schon von klein auf zeigt sich sein künstlerisches Talent, er zeichnet, malt und  liest gerne (Dostojewski). Sein Studium ("perito industrial") bricht er relativ schnell ab und widmet sich ausschließlich der Kunst, als Autodidakt. Mit Erfolg. Seine erste Solo-Ausstellung mit 19 Jahren, er gründet mit anderen Künstlern die "Grupo Picasso". Nach seinem Wehrdienst (1959/1960) wandert er nach Hilden (Deutschland) aus, dort arbeitet er in einer Fabrik, wird aber aufgrund fehlernder Aufenthaltsgenehmigung des Landes verwiesen.
1961 kehrt er zurück, nach Köln. Aufgrund des Erfolges einer Ausstellung in der Galerie Boisseree kann er sich ausschließlich der Kunst widmen. Er knüpft Kontakte mit Vostell, mit der Gruppe Fluxus und ist mit Cornelius Cardew befreundet. Später zieht er nach Berlin und von dort aus nach Rom (1964).
1966 kehrt er zurück nach Málaga. 1969 heiratet er eine Deutsche, mit der er zwei Kinder hat.
Sein Schaffen findet immer mehr Zuspruch, national wie international, die Liste der Messen, Ausstellungen und Kunstpreise ist einfach zu lang, wir verweisen für die Details lieber auf seine Homepage.

Enrique lebt zwischen seiner Heimatstadt Málaga und seinem zweitem Atelier in Madrid, übrigens auch in einem geschichtsträchtigem Haus: es war das Haus von Cervantes.

Enrique Brinkmann ist nicht nur unserer Meinung nach ein begnadigter Künstler, der sich abseits vom Trubel und Jubel des Kunstmarktes einen Weg gebahnt hat, der unisono von allen Kritikern als einmalig und hervorragend bescheinigt wird. Sein Stil, im Informel angesiedelt, hat sich über die Jahre weiterentwickelt, es gibt keinen Stillstand, trotz Erfolges gilt es immer "Weiter !". Auch seine Maltechnik ist der Evolution unterworfen, seine Besonderheit - Öl auf Metallgitter - geht schnurstracks auf die Perfektion zu.
Als überzeugter (und begnadeter) Radierer - zwei Staatspreise zeugen von einem sehr hohem Niveau - widmet er seiner Grafik oftmals mehr Zeit als Unikaten, die Detailversessenheit läßt sich in der digitalen Abbildung kaum erahnen. Die hohe Präzision, die hohe Qualität und die künstlerische Geradlinigkeit und Ausgeglichenheit machen diese Werke einmalig. 

Museen und Institutionen

Hierzu verweisen wir auf die Webseite von Enrique Brinkmann, diese ist am aktuellesten:
https://www.enriquebrinkmann.es/reports/DE_Museen.php?lang=deu

We use cookies to give you the best experience. Read our cookie policy.